top of page

Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix - Suzuka Track Guide: It's back!

Here's everything you need to know ahead of this year's Japanese Grand Prix, officially named the Formula 1 Honda Japanese Grand Prix 2022.

The Suzuka International Racing Course was built in 1962, when Soichiro Honda wanted to create a circuit for his -well known- car company, so he could test the cars privately. The Dutch designer, John Hugenholtz, got the memo, and built a track which is now iconic. The track held its first ever Grand Prix in 1987, with Nelson Piquet winning the inaugural race, as well as that year's Championship.

Valtteri Bottas Post Japanese Grand Prix Win
Valtteri Bottas Post Japanese Grand Prix Win

What Suzuka gave us last time round

Valtteri Bottas took victory of the 2019 Japanese Grand Prix, as polesitter Sebastian Vettel had a rather rough start to his race, finishing second, with Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc clashing on Lap 1, and eventually pulling out of the race. Mercedes performed a great strategy, and were also crowned Constructors Champions for the 6th time in a row. Lewis Hamilton came third on the line, after a long battle with Vettel for P2.

Circuit Map provided by the FIA
Circuit Map provided by the FIA

Track Characteristics

Turns: 18 DRS Zones: 1 Circuit Length: 5.807 km (3.608 mi) Total Race Distance: 307.471 km (191.053 mi) Number of Laps: 53 Lap Record: 1:30.983 (Lewis Hamilton, 2019) Direction: Clockwise Elevation Change: 40.4 m


Three seasons after its last appearance in the calendar, the Japanese Grand Prix is back, and the three hardest compounds of the Pirelli Formula 1 range have been selected for it: the C1 as the P Zero White hard, C2 as the P Zero Yellow medium, and C3 as P Zero Red soft.

Pressure and Camber info:

Minimum Starting Pressure (slicks): 25.0 psi (front), 23.0 psi (rear) EOS Camber limit: -2.75° (front), -1.50° (rear)

More tyre info provided by Pirelli
More tyre info provided by Pirelli

2022 Japanese Grand Prix Weekend Schedule

Friday 7 October:

  • FP1: 04:00 - 05:00 GMT

  • FP2: 07:00 - 08:30 GMT

Saturday 8 October:

  • FP3: 04:00 - 05:00 GMT

  • Qualifying: 07:00 - 08:00 GMT

Sunday 9 October:

  • Race: 06:00 GMT

bottom of page