top of page

Azerbaijan 2022 Grand Prix - Track Guide

Here's everything you need to know ahead of this year's Azerbaijan Grand Prix, officically the Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix 2022.

The first ever GP held in Baku was the 2016 European Grand Prix, won by Nico Rosberg. The first Azerbaijan Grand Prix was held the next year, in 2017, with Daniel Ricciardo as the winner.

Max Verstappen, 2021 Azerbaijan GP, Lap 47

What Baku gave us last year

The 2021 Azerbaijan Grand Prix was an absolute heartbreak for Max Verstappen. The Dutchman was leading for pretty much the entire race, before he spun and crashed his Red Bull on lap 47, after a tyre blowout.

The race was red flagged on lap 48 and resumed on lap 50, where Lewis Hamilton, having placed his Mercedes at P2 before the restart, locked-up heavily and dived into the run-off area of Turn 1. Perez drove to victory, and both Championship contenders left Baku with no points.

Official Circuit Map Document provided by the FIA

Track Characteristics:

Turns: 20

DRS Zones: 2

Circuit Length: 6.003 km (3.730 mi)

Total Race Distance: 306.049 km (190.170 mi)

Number of Laps: 51

Lap Record: 1:43.009 (Charles Leclerc, 2019)

Direction: Anti-clockwise

Elevation: 26.8 m

Baku has a very long main straight, of 2.22 km (1.37 mi), but it's known for having the most narrow corner complex of the Championship, as the castle section (T8-T10) is only 7.6 m wide, making the track the perfect combination of speed and technicality.


Once again, just like last year, the softest tyres in the Pirelli Formula 1 range have been selected for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix: the C3 as the P Zero White hard, C4 as the P Zero Yellow medium, and C5 as P Zero Red soft.

Pressure and Camber info:

Minimum Starting Pressure (slicks): 20.0 psi (front), 19.0 psi (rear)

EOS Camber limit: -3.50° (front), -2.00° (rear)

More tyre info provided by Pirelli

Azerbaijan Grand Prix weekend schedule


​10 June

​12:00 - 13:00 GMT


​10 June

15:00 - 16:00 GMT​


​11 June

​12:00 - 13:00 GMT​


​11 June

​15:00 - 16:00 GMT


​12 June

​12:00 - 14:00 GMT

bottom of page