top of page

Spanish Grand Prix

Everything you need to know about the Spanish Grand Prix

Round 08  - June 2nd - 4th


Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, is a motor racing circuit located in Montmeló, a town in the Catalonia region of Spain. The circuit is best known for hosting the Spanish Grand Prix, which has been held there since 1991.

The circuit is 4.655 km (2.892 mi) long and features 16 turns, including several high-speed corners and a long straightaway that provides an excellent overtaking opportunity. The track is known for its smooth surface and excellent facilities, which make it a popular testing location for Formula One teams.

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is a favorite among teams and drivers, who appreciate the challenging layout and the excellent facilities. The track is also known for its variable weather conditions, which can range from hot and dry to cool and rainy, and can have a significant impact on the outcome of the race.

In addition to hosting the Spanish Grand Prix, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya also hosts a variety of other motor racing events, including MotoGP and the FIA World Endurance Championship. The track is also used for testing by several Formula One teams, particularly during the pre-season testing period.

Overall, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is a well-regarded circuit that provides an excellent challenge for drivers and a great experience for fans. Its central location and excellent facilities make it a popular destination for motor racing events and testing.

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was built as part of the 1992 Barcelona Olympics development programme, with constructions starting three years earlier. The track hosted its first Grand Prix in 1991, with Nigel Mansell winning the debut race. The track has gone through a recent layout removing the hairpin at turn 10 to long curved left handed corner. New for 2023 the final chicane of turns of 14 and 15 have been removed so the track reverts to its original layout.

Bahrain Grand Prix Track.png

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

Turns: 16
DRS Zones: 2
Circuit Length: 4.675 km (2.905 mi)
Total Race Distance: 308.424 km (191.646 mi)
Number of Laps: 66
Lap Record: - 1:18.149 Max Verstappen (2021)

Last 5 Winners

2022: Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2021: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2020: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2019: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2018: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes


Friday June 2nd:
Practice 1 (FP1) : 12:30 - 13:30
Practice 2 (FP2): 16:00 - 17:00

Saturday June 3rd:
Practice 3 (FP3): 11:30 - 12:30
Qualifying: 15:00 - 16:00

Sunday June 4th:
Race Start: 14:00

bottom of page