top of page

Miami Grand Prix

Everything you need to know about the Miami Grand Prix

Round 05 - May 5th - 7th


The F1 Miami Track, also known as the Miami Grand Prix Circuit, is a street circuit located in the city of Miami, Florida, USA. The track made its debut on the Formula One calendar in 2022, with a 10-year agreement in place to host the event.

The circuit is 5.41 km (3.36 mi) long and features 19 turns, including a long straightaway that runs parallel to the Hard Rock Stadium, home of the Miami Dolphins NFL team. The track is designed to provide a high-speed challenge for drivers, with several fast corners and long straights.

The Miami Grand Prix Circuit has been designed by Hermann Tilke, a renowned circuit architect who has designed many of the tracks on the current Formula One calendar. The track has been designed to showcase the city of Miami and its iconic landmarks, with the downtown skyline and Biscayne Bay visible from several parts of the circuit.

The Miami Grand Prix is expected to attract a large number of fans and generate significant economic activity for the city of Miami and the state of Florida. It is the first Formula One race to be held in the United States since the US Grand Prix at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

Max Verstappen won the first race back in Miami beating Charles Leclerc after a late race Safety Car caused by a collison between McLaren's Lando Norris and Pierre Gasly.

Bahrain Grand Prix Track.png

Miami International Autodrome

Turns: 19
DRS Zones: 3
Circuit Length: 5.412km (3.362mi)
Total Race Distance: 308.326km (191.584mi)
Number of Laps: 57
Lap Record: 1:31.361 Max Verstappen (2022)

What happend at the 2023 Miami Grand Prix

The Miami Grand Prix saw Max Verstappen take an incredible drive to victory from P9 on the grid after a qualifying session that resulted in a very mixed up grid. With increasing track evolution through Q1, Q2 and Q3 some drivers were massively out of position compared to their teammates. Then adding Charles Leclerc's final qualifying lap crash heading into the long left hander of turns 6, 7 and 8 causing the session to be red flagged no drivers got their final lap in. Max Verstappen had a tough final Q3 while on his first lap he made a mistake the same place Leclerc crashed his Ferrari and then with the red flag did not set a lap time meaning he would start from P9 on the grid. Meanwhile Magnussen had a great qualifying getting his Haas on the second row of the grid.

While Q1 saw Lance Stroll in his Aston Martin out due to the increasing track evolution and started from P18. In Q2 Hamilton ended up being knocked out due to the outright pace of the Mercedes while struggling on his first lap and then once again track evolution played a part meaning he would start from the 13th grid slot. At the end of qualifying it was Sergio Perez who ended up taking pole position ahead of Fernando Alonso and Carlos Sainz who completed the top three.

Verstappen blew the rest of the field away on his hard tyres compared to the rest on mediums. By lap 15 he was on the back of Fernando Alonso in the Aston Martin fighting for second place and just seconds behind his teammate leading the race. The Dutchman quickly dispersed of the Aston Martin driver who had predicted that Verstappen would be passed him by lap 25. Meanwhile the midfield were in a close fighting with Hamilton slowly making his way through the pack due to him being stuck in a DRS train. The 7 time world champion would eventually fight his way to an 6th place finish.

On lap 45 Verstappen would eventually pit for a set of mediums to finish the race strongly. He was on the back of Sergio Perez inevitably. With 10 laps to go the two teammates would fight over the lead down turn 17. Verstappen would try to go around the outside of the Mexican and would get DRS down to turn 1. Perez defended the inside line superbly but Verstappen with the extra grip just managed to drive around the outside of him due to the extra grip of the fresh medium tyres.

The reigning world champion would go onto take a very well deserved win and tied the Red Bull teams record for most wins by a driver with 38. Verstappen now holds that record along with 4 time world champion Sebastian Vettel who drove for the team between 2009 and 2014.

Previous Winners

2023: Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2022: Max Verstappen, Red Bull (Inaugural Race)


Friday May 5th:
Practice 1 (FP1) : 19:30 - 20:30 (Finished)
Practice 2 (FP2): 23:00 - 00:00 (Finished)

Saturday May 6th:
Practice 3 (FP3): 17:30 - 18:30 (Finished)
Qualifying: 21:00 - 22:00 (Finished)

Sunday May 7th:
Race Start: 20:30 (Finished)

bottom of page