top of page

Japanese Grand Prix

Everything you need to know about the Japanese Grand Prix

Round 17 - September 22nd - 24th


Suzuka Circuit, is a motor racing circuit located in Suzuka City, Mie Prefecture, Japan. The circuit was first introduced to the Formula One calendar in 1987 and has since become one of the most popular and iconic races on the schedule.

The current track is 5.807 km (3.608 mi) long and features 18 turns, including the famous "S" Curves and the challenging 130R corner. The track is known for its high-speed layout and its demanding corners, which require precision and skill from drivers.

The Suzuka Circuit is a favorite among drivers, who appreciate the challenging layout and the unique atmosphere of the race. The circuit is also known for its passionate fans, who come out in large numbers to support the event and create an electric atmosphere throughout the weekend.

The Japanese Grand Prix is held annually at the Suzuka Circuit and is one of the most prestigious races on the Formula One calendar. The race is known for its exciting on-track action, particularly in the opening laps as drivers jostle for position and navigate the demanding turns.

In addition to hosting the Japanese Grand Prix, the Suzuka Circuit also hosts a variety of other motor racing events, including the Suzuka 8 Hours endurance race and the Super Formula championship. The circuit is also open to the public for driving experiences, guided tours, and other events throughout the year.

The Suzuka International Racing Course was built in 1962, when Soichiro Honda wanted to create a circuit for his -well known- car company, so he could test the cars privately. The Dutch designer, John Hugenholtz, got the memo, and built a track which is now iconic. The track held its first ever Grand Prix in 1987, with Nelson Piquet winning the inaugural race, as well as that year's Championship.

Bahrain Grand Prix Track.png

Suzuka International Racing Course

Turns: 18
DRS Zones: 1
Circuit Length: 5.807 km (3.608 mi)
Total Race Distance: 307.471 km (191.053 mi)
Number of Laps: 53
Lap Record: 1:30.983 (Lewis Hamilton, 2019)

Last 5 Winners

2022: Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2019: Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
2018: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2017: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2016: Nico Rosberg, Mercedes


Friday September 22nd:
Practice 1 (FP1) : 03:30 - 04:30
Practice 2 (FP2): 07:00 - 08:30

Saturday September 23rd:
Practice 3 (FP3): 03:30 - 04:30
Qualifying: 07:00 - 08:00

Sunday September 24th:
Race Start: 06:00

bottom of page