top of page

Donington Park

United Kingdom

United Kingdom

Donington Park is a motorsport circuit located in Leicestershire, England. The circuit has a long and varied history, and has hosted a wide range of motorsport events over the years.

The circuit was first opened in 1931, and quickly became known as a challenging and exciting venue. Over the years, Donington Park has hosted numerous international events, including the British Grand Prix in 1993, which was won by Ayrton Senna in one of the most memorable races in Formula One history.

Donington Park has also been a regular venue for the British Touring Car Championship, the British Superbike Championship, and various historic racing events. In addition to its rich motor racing history, the circuit has also hosted music festivals such as Download Festival and other cultural events.

Despite its long and varied history, Donington Park has faced numerous challenges over the years. The circuit fell into disrepair in the 1990s and early 2000s, and was forced to close for several years. However, in recent years, the circuit has undergone extensive renovation and redevelopment, and is once again a popular venue for motorsport events.

Today, Donington Park remains one of the most iconic and historic motorsport circuits in the world, and its challenging layout and rich history make it a favorite among fans and drivers alike.

Capacity: 120,000
FIA Grade: 2 (both layouts)
Owner: MotorSport Vision (2017–2038)
Operator: MotorSport Vision
Opened: 1931 (re-opened 1977)
Construction cost: £12,000
Major events
World SBK (1988–2001, 2007–2009, 2011–2019, 2021–present)
BTCC (1977–1979, 1981–present)
British GT (1993–present)
BSB (1996–2009, 2011–present)
TCR UK (2018–present)

F1 European Grand Prix (1993)
Grand Prix motorcycle racing
British motorcycle Grand Prix (1987–2009)
Sidecar World Championship (1987–2001, 2008, 2014–2016, 2021–2022)
FIA WTCC Race of UK (2011)
ELMS 6 Hours of Donington (2006, 2012)
DTM (2002–2003)
FIM EWC (1981–1982, 1987)
FIA GT (1997–1999, 2002–2004)
World Sportscar Championship (1989–1990, 1992)
FIA GT1 World Championship (2012)

Grand Prix Circuit (1986–present)
Length 4.020 km (2.498 miles)
Turns: 12
Race lap record: 1:17.707 (Kimiya Sato, Lola B05/52, 2013, Auto GP)

bottom of page