top of page

Brands Hatch Circuit

United Kingdom

United Kingdom

Brands Hatch is a historic motor racing circuit located in Kent, England. The circuit has a long and rich history, and has hosted a wide range of motor racing events over the years.

The circuit was first opened in 1926 as a dirt track for motorcycle racing, and was later converted to a tarmac circuit in 1950. In the following years, Brands Hatch became one of the premier motor racing venues in the UK, hosting a wide range of national and international events.

In the 1960s and 1970s, Brands Hatch hosted numerous Formula One races, including the British Grand Prix on several occasions. The circuit was also a regular venue for the British Touring Car Championship and the World Sportscar Championship, and has been the site of many memorable races and battles over the years.

In addition to its rich motor racing history, Brands Hatch is also known for its unique and challenging layout. The circuit features a mix of high-speed corners and technical sections, as well as several changes in elevation, making it a true test of driver skill and courage.

Today, Brands Hatch continues to host a wide range of motor racing events, including the British Superbike Championship, the British Touring Car Championship, and various historic racing events. The circuit remains a popular destination for fans and drivers alike, and its rich history and unique character make it one of the most iconic motor racing venues in the world.

FIA Grade: 2 (GP)
Owner: MotorSport Vision (January 2004–present)
Opened: 1950

Major events:
GT World Challenge Europe (2014–2019, 2021–present)
NASCAR Whelen Euro Series (2012–2019, 2021–present)
BSB (1995–present)
BTCC (1958–present)
British GT (1993–1997, 1999–2004, 2006–present)
TCR UK (2018–2019, 2021–present)
Formula Ford Festival (1976–present)

Formula One
British Grand Prix (Intermittently 1964–1986)
European Grand Prix (1983, 1985)
World Touring Car Championship
Race of UK (2006–2010)
World SBK (1993, 1995–2008)
A1GP (2005, 2007–2009)
DTM (2006–2013, 2018–2019)
W Series (2019)
CART (2003)
World Sportscar Championship (1967–1972, 1974, 1977, 1979–1982, 1984–1989)
FIM Endurance World Championship (1966–1968, 1978–1979, 2001)
Sidecar World Championship (1999–2003, 2005, 2007, 2015)
2012 Summer Paralympics

Grand Prix Circuit: (2003–present)
Length: 3.916 km (2.433 miles)
Turns: 9
Race lap record: 1:12.276 (Adam Carroll, A1GP Ferrari, 2009, A1GP)

Indy Circuit: (2003–present)
Length: 1.944 km (1.208 miles)
Turns: 6
Race lap record: 0:38.032 (Scott Mansell, Benetton B197 Judd, 2004, EuroBOSS/F1)

Grand Prix Circuit: (1999–2002)
Length: 4.221 km (2.623 miles)
Turns: 11
Race lap record: 1:18.372 (Takuma Sato, Dallara F301, 2001, F3)
Grand Prix Circuit: (1988–1998)
Length: 4.182 km (2.599 miles)
Turns: 11
Race lap record: 1:13.471 (Jean-Louis Schlesser, Sauber C9, 1989, Group C)

Indy Circuit: (1976–1998)
Length: 1.938 km (1.204 miles)
Turns: 6
Race lap record: 39.400 (Bernd Schneider, Porsche 962C, 1991, Group C1)

Grand Prix Circuit: (1976–1987)
Length: 4.207 km (2.614 miles)
Turns: 9
Race lap record: 1:09.593 (Nigel Mansell, Williams FW11, 1986, F1)
Grand Prix Circuit: (1960–1975)
Length: 4.265 km (2.650 miles)
Turns: 9
Race lap record: 1:21.100 (Niki Lauda, Ferrari 312B3, 1974, F1)

bottom of page