top of page

Algarve International Circuit



The Portuguese Grand Prix is a long-standing event in Formula One racing, although it has been absent from the calendar for several years at times. The race has been held at several different circuits in Portugal, including the Circuito da Boavista, the Circuito de Monsanto, and the Autódromo do Estoril.

The first Portuguese Grand Prix was held in 1958 at the Circuito da Boavista in Porto, and was won by Stirling Moss driving a Vanwall. The race was held intermittently over the years at different locations, and was often marked by difficult weather conditions.

The most successful driver in the history of the Portuguese Grand Prix is Alain Prost, who won the race a total of six times between 1984 and 1993. Other notable drivers who have won the race include Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell, and Mika Hakkinen.

In 1996, the Portuguese Grand Prix moved to the newly-built Autódromo do Estoril, where it remained until 1997. The race was then removed from the calendar for several years before returning in 2000, this time held at the newly-constructed Circuito Internacional de Vila Real. However, this event was only a one-off race and the Portuguese Grand Prix was once again removed from the calendar.

In 2020, the Portuguese Grand Prix made a return to the Formula One calendar, held at the Algarve International Circuit in Portimão. The race was won by Lewis Hamilton, who secured his 92nd career victory and broke Michael Schumacher's record for the most wins in Formula One history.

Overall, the Portuguese Grand Prix is a historic and important event in the world of Formula One, and has produced many memorable moments over the years. Despite its absence from the calendar at times, the race remains a beloved event among fans and drivers alike, and continues to showcase the best in motorsport competition.

FIA Grade: 1
Broke ground: February 2008
Opened: October 2008
Construction cost: €195 million
Architect: Ricardo Pina

Major events
Grand Prix motorcycle racing
Portuguese motorcycle Grand Prix (2020–present)
Algarve motorcycle Grand Prix (2021)
FIA WEC 6 Hours of Portimão (2021, 2023)
World SBK
(2008–2015, 2017–present)
TCR World Tour (2023)
ELMS 4 Hours of Portimão (2009–2010, 2017–present)
International GT Open (2009, 2011–2014, 2023)
Euroformula Open (2011–2014, 2021, 2023)
TCR Europe (2022–present)
FIM CEV Moto3 Junior World Championship (2014–2016, 2020–present)
GT2 European Series (2023)

Formula One
Portuguese Grand Prix (2020–2021)
24H Series 24 Hours of Portimão (2017–2020, 2022)
DTM (2022)
Lamborghini Super Trofeo World Finals (2022)
WTCC Race of Portugal (2010, 2012)
FIM Endurance World Championship (2016)
TCR International (2015)
A1 Grand Prix (2009)
FIA GT (2009)
GP2 (2009)
Grand Prix Circuit (2008–present)
Length 4.653 km (2.891 miles)
Turns: 15
Race lap record: 1:18.750 (Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes W11, 2020, F1)

Motorcycling Circuit: (2008–present)
Length: 4.592 km (2.853 miles)
Turns: 15
Race lap record: 1:38.872 (Aleix Espargaró, Aprilia RS-GP, 2023, MotoGP)

GP Circuit with Chicane (2008–2019)
Length: 4.684 km (2.911 miles)
Turns: 16
Race lap record: 1:32.113 (Diego Nunes, Dallara GP2/08, 2009, GP2)

bottom of page