top of page

Sepang International Circuit



The Malaysian Grand Prix was a Formula One race that was held at the Sepang International Circuit in Selangor, Malaysia. The race was first held in 1999 and remained on the Formula One calendar until 2017.

The Sepang International Circuit was designed by Hermann Tilke and was one of the most modern and technically advanced tracks on the Formula One calendar. It featured a mix of high-speed corners, long straights, and tight hairpin turns.

Over the years, the Malaysian Grand Prix produced many memorable moments in Formula One history. In 2001, Michael Schumacher won the race despite having to start from the back of the grid due to a penalty.

The Malaysian Grand Prix was also notable for its extreme weather conditions, with high temperatures and heavy rain often making for challenging and unpredictable racing. In 2009, the race was stopped due to torrential rain and was later restarted, leading to controversy and confusion among drivers and teams.

After 19 years on the Formula One calendar, the Malaysian Grand Prix was removed from the schedule in 2018 due to financial reasons. Despite its absence from the current calendar, the Malaysian Grand Prix remains a beloved event among fans and drivers alike, and is remembered for its exciting racing, challenging track layout, and unique atmosphere.

Capacity: 130,000
FIA Grade: 1 (GP), 2 (North)
Broke ground: 1 November 1997
Opened: 17 March 1999
Architect: Hermann Tilke

Major events
Grand Prix motorcycle racing
Malaysian motorcycle Grand Prix
(1999–2019, 2022–present)
GT World Challenge Asia
(2017–2019, 2022–present)
Asia Road Racing Championship (2003–2015, 2019–2020, 2022–present)
Sepang 12 Hours (2000–2016, 2023)
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia (2003–2009, 2011–2019, 2023)

Formula One
Malaysian Grand Prix
WTCR Race of Malaysia (2019)
World SBK (2014–2016)
FIM EWC (2019)
Asian Le Mans Series
Super GT (2002, 2004–2013)
Formula Nippon (2004)

Grand Prix Circuit (1999–present)
Length: 5.543 km (3.445 miles)
Turns: 15
Race lap record: 1:34.080 (Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari SF70H, 2017)

North Circuit (1999–present)
Length: 2.706 km (1.681 miles)
Turns: 9

South Circuit (1999–present)
Length: 2.609 km (1.621 miles)
Turns: 8

bottom of page