top of page




The Nürburgring is a motorsport complex located in the town of Nürburg, Germany. It is perhaps best known for its famous Nordschleife circuit, which is often referred to simply as "The Ring". The Nordschleife is one of the longest and most challenging race tracks in the world, and has a rich and storied history in motorsport.

The Nürburgring was originally built in the 1920s, as a means of providing employment for local workers during the Great Depression. The track was designed by architect Gustav Eichler, and was intended to serve as a test facility for the German automotive industry. The first race was held on June 18, 1927, and was won by Rudolf Caracciola driving a Mercedes-Benz S.

Over the years, the Nürburgring has played host to many major motorsport events, including the German Grand Prix and the 24 Hours of Nürburgring endurance race. The Nordschleife circuit, in particular, has gained a reputation as one of the most challenging and dangerous race tracks in the world, due to its narrow width, high speeds, and numerous corners.

Despite its reputation, the Nürburgring has remained a popular destination for motorsport fans and enthusiasts, with many major events taking place there each year. The complex has also undergone several major renovations and upgrades in recent years, including the addition of a new grandstand, a new pit lane, and improved safety features on the Nordschleife circuit.

Today, the Nürburgring remains one of the most iconic and important motorsport venues in the world, and continues to attract drivers, teams, and fans from around the globe.

FIA Grade: 1 (GP), 2 (2 layouts), 3 (combined), 6R (Rallycross)

Major events
GT World Challenge Europe (2013–2016, 2019–2021, 2023)
DTM (2000–present)
24 Hours Nürburgring (1970–present)
NLS (1977–present)
European Truck Racing Championship ADAC Truck-Grand-Prix

Formula One
German Grand Prix
European Grand Prix (1984, 1995–1996, 1999–2007)
Luxembourg Grand Prix (1997–1998)
Eifel Grand Prix (2020)
6 Hours of Nürburgring (2015–2017)
FIA World Rallycross Championship
World RX of Germany (2021–2022)
Race of Germany (2015–2022)
Grand Prix motorcycle racing
German motorcycle Grand Prix (intermittently, 1955–1997)
World SBK (1998–1999, 2008–2013)
FIM EWC (1977–1985, 2001)
Sidecar World Championship
(1955, 1958, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1995–1997, 1999, 2005)
ELMS 1000km Nürburgring (2004–2009)
International GT Open (2010, 2012–2014)
TCR Europe (2016, 2021–2022)
NASCAR Whelen Euro Series (2014)
FIA GT (1997, 2001)
World Sportscar Championship (1953, 1956–1984, 1986–1991)

GP-Strecke (2002–present)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 5.148 km (3.199 miles)
Turns: 15
Race lap record: 1:28.139 (Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing RB16, 2020, F1)

Sprint Circuit (2002–present)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 3.629 km (2.255 miles)
Turns: 12
Race lap record: 1:19.322 (Kimiya Sato, Lola B05/52, 2014, Auto GP)
Oldtimer Circuit (2002–present)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 4.569 km (2.839 miles)
Turns: 12
Race lap record: 1:36.325 (United Kingdom Martin Stretton, Tyrrell 012, 2018, Formula One)

24 Hours Circuit – Combined GP Circuit without Mercedes-Arena
Surface: Asphalt/concrete
Length: 25.378 km (15.770 miles)
Turns: 170
Race lap record: 8:11.639 (Phillip Ellis, Mercedes-AMG GT3, 2022, GT3)

Nordschleife (1983–present)
Surface: Asphalt/concrete
Length: 20.832 km (12.944 miles)
Turns: 154
Race lap record: 6:25.91 (Stefan Bellof, Porsche 956, 1983, Group C)

GP-Strecke with F1 Chicane (1995–2001)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 4.556 km (2.831 miles)
Turns: 12
Race lap record: 1:18.354 (Juan Pablo Montoya, Williams FW23, 2001, F1)

GP-Strecke without F1 Chicane (1984–2001)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 4.542 km (2.822 miles)
Turns: 12
Race lap record: 1:21.533 (Teo Fabi, Jaguar XJR-14, 1991, C1)

Nordschleife (1971–1982)
Surface: Asphalt/concrete
Length: 22.835 km (14.189 miles)
Turns: 160
Race lap record: 7:06.4 (Clay Regazzoni, Ferrari 312T, 1975, F1)

Nordschleife (1967–1970)
Surface: Asphalt/concrete
Length: 22.835 km (14.189 miles)
Turns: 160
Race lap record: 7:40.800 (Belgium Jacky Ickx, Brabham BT26A, 1969, F1)

Nordschleife (1927–1966)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 22.800 km (14.167 miles)
Turns: 160
Race lap record: 8:24.1 (Jim Clark, Lotus 33, 1965, F1)

Südschleife (1927–1982)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 7.747 km (4.814 miles)
Turns: 27
Race lap record: 2:38.6 (Helmut Kelleners, March 707, 1970, Group 7)

Gesamtstrecke (1927–1982)
Surface: Asphalt
Length 28.265 km (17.563 miles)
Turns: 187
Race lap record: 15:06.1 (Louis Chiron, Bugatti Type35C, 1929, Grand Prix)

bottom of page