top of page




The Hockenheimring is a motorsport circuit located in the town of Hockenheim, Germany. It is best known for hosting the German Grand Prix for many years, as well as several other major racing events.

The circuit was originally built in the 1930s, as a test track for Mercedes-Benz. It was initially a high-speed oval track, but was later converted to a more traditional road course. The first race at the circuit was held in 1932, and was won by Rudolf Caracciola driving a Mercedes-Benz.

Over the years, the Hockenheimring has undergone several major renovations and upgrades, in order to improve safety and increase capacity. The circuit is now a modern and technically demanding track, with a mix of high-speed straights and challenging corners.

The Hockenheimring has played host to many major racing events over the years, including the German Grand Prix, the European Grand Prix, and the Formula One World Championship. It has also hosted many other motorsport events, including touring car racing, motorcycle racing, and even drag racing.

The Hockenheimring has produced many memorable moments in motorsport history, including Michael Schumacher's first Formula One victory in 1992, and his emotional win in 2006, in front of his home crowd. The circuit has also witnessed some tragic events, including the death of Jim Clark during a Formula Two race in 1968.

Many legendary drivers have won the German Grand Prix over the years, including Juan Manuel Fangio, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, and Lewis Hamilton. Michael Schumacher holds the record for the most wins at the race, with 4 wins at Hockenheimring and 5 wins at Nürburgring.

Today, the Hockenheimring remains one of the most important and iconic motorsport venues in the world, and continues to attract drivers, teams, and fans from around the globe.

FIA Grade: 1 (GP), 3 (National)
Broke ground: 23 March 1932
Opened: 29 May 1932
Architect: Hermann Tilke (redesign), John Hugenholtz

Major events
DTM (2000–present)
GT World Challenge Europe (2022–present)
FREC (2023)
BOSS GP (2007–2008, 2010–2019, 2022–present)
Formula One
German Grand Prix (Intermittently, 1970–2019)
Grand Prix motorcycle racing
German motorcycle Grand Prix (Intermittently, 1957–1994)
World SBK (1988–1997, 1999–2000)
World RX of Hockenheim
FIM EWC (1986)
Sidecar World Championship
(Intermittently, 1957–2000)
24H Series 12 Hours of Hockenheimring (2020–2022)
NASCAR Whelen Euro Series (2017–2019)
GP2 (Intermittently, 2005–2016)
GP3 (2010, 2012, 2014, 2016)
FIA GT (1997–1999, 2004)
W Series (2019)
International GT Open (2019)
TCR Europe (2016, 2019)
World Sportscar Championship (1966–1967, 1977, 1985)

Grand Prix Circuit (2002–present)
Surface: Asphalt
Length: 4.574 km (2.842 miles)
Turns: 17
Race lap record: 1:13.780 (Kimi Räikkönen, McLaren MP4-19B, 2004, F1)

Modified Motorcycle Course (2014–present)
Surface: Asphalt and brick
Length: 2.591 miles (4.170 km)
Turns: 16
Race lap record: 1:32.625 (Marc Márquez, Honda RC213V, 2015, MotoGP)

bottom of page