top of page

Shanghai International Circuit



It is officially known as the Shanghai International Circuit and was designed by Hermann Tilke. The circuit has a length of 5.451 kilometers and features 16 turns, including a hairpin turn and a long back straight. The track has hosted the Chinese Grand Prix since 2004, and is one of the most modern and well-equipped circuits in the world. The circuit has a seating capacity of over 200,000 spectators and has been praised for its impressive facilities and architecture. The track is known for its challenging corners and long straight, which provide opportunities for high-speed overtaking maneuvers.

The Chinese Grand Prix was a relatively new addition to the Formula One calendar, with the first race taking place in 2004. The Shanghai International Circuit was purpose-built for the event, and has hosted the race every year since.

The inaugural race in 2004 was won by Rubens Barrichello driving for Ferrari. Since then, the race has been won by a variety of drivers from different teams, including Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton, and Nico Rosberg. The most successful driver in the Chinese Grand Prix is Hamilton, who has won the race a record six times.

In addition to the race itself, the Chinese Grand Prix has also been the site of several memorable moments in Formula One history. In 2007, Hamilton famously clashed with his teammate Alonso in qualifying, resulting in both drivers being penalized. In 2010, Jenson Button produced a stunning drive to win the race from fourth on the grid. And in 2018, Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo produced a stunning overtaking move on Hamilton to take the lead and ultimately win the race.

Overall, the Chinese Grand Prix had become an important part of the Formula One calendar, with its unique circuit layout and impressive facilities making it a favourite among drivers and fans alike.

Capacity: 200,000
FIA Grade: 1 (Grand Prix), 2 (International)
Owners: Shanghai Jiushi Group (92%)
Shanghai International Automobile City(8%)

Operator: Shanghai International Circuit Co., Ltd.
Broke ground: April 2003
Opened: 6 June 2004
Construction cost: ¥2.6 billion ($450 million, €370 million)
Architect: Hermann Tilke

Major events
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia (2004–2019, 2021, 2023)

Formula One
Chinese Grand Prix (2004–2019, 2024)

4 Hours of Shanghai (2012–2019)
Grand Prix motorcycle racing
Chinese motorcycle Grand Prix (2005–2008)
WTCC Race of China (2012–2016)
Asian Le Mans Series (2014, 2018–2019)
F3 Asian Championship (2018–2019)
Blancpain GT Series Asia (2017–2019)
TCR Asia Series (2016–2019, 2021)
Formula Renault AsiaCup (2004–2011, 2013–2018)
TCR International Series (2015)
GP2 Asia (2008)
A1 Grand Prix (2006–2008)
V8 Supercars China round (2005)

Grand Prix Circuit (2004–present)
Length 5.451 km (3.388 miles)
Turns: 16
Race lap record: 1:32.238 (Michael Schumacher, Ferrari F2004, 2004)

Motorcycle Grand Prix Circuit (2004–present)
Length: 5.281 km (3.282 miles)
Turns 16
Race lap record: 1:59.273 (Italy Valentino Rossi, Yamaha YZR-M1, 2008)

Intermediate Circuit : (2004–present)
Length 4.603 km (2.858 miles)
Turns: 14
Race lap record: 1:35.177 (Robert Wickens, Lola B05/52, 2008)

bottom of page