top of page

Canadian Grand Prix

Everything you need to know about the Canadian Grand Prix

Round 09 - June 16th - 18th


Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, is a motor racing circuit located on the Île Notre-Dame in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The circuit is named after the late Canadian racing driver Gilles Villeneuve, who won his first Formula One race at the circuit in 1978.

The circuit is 4.361 km (2.710 mi) long and features 14 turns, including several chicanes and a long straightaway that provides an excellent overtaking opportunity. The track is known for its high speeds and heavy braking zones, which can be very challenging for the drivers.

The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve is a favorite among drivers, who appreciate the challenging layout and the passionate Canadian fans who come out to support the race. The circuit is also known for its unique location, with the track surrounded by water and the city skyline visible in the background.

The Canadian Grand Prix has been held annually at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve since 1978 and is one of the most popular races on the Formula One calendar. The race is known for its unpredictable weather conditions, with rain often playing a factor in the outcome of the race.

In addition to hosting the Canadian Grand Prix, the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve also hosts a variety of other motor racing events, including the NASCAR Xfinity Series and the Formula E championship. The circuit is also open to the public for cycling, running, and rollerblading during certain times of the year.

The Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve, or Circuit Ile Notre-Dame, as it was first named, was built on the man-made Notre Dame Island, in the middle of the St Lawrence River in Montreal, after the end of the 1976 Montreal Summer Olympics, with the track hosting its first race in 1978.

Bahrain Grand Prix Track.png

Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve

Turns: 14
DRS Zones: 3
Circuit Length: 4.361 km (2.709 mi)
Total Race Distance: 305.27 km (189.68 mi)
Number of Laps: 70
Lap Record: 1:13.078 (Valtteri Bottas, 2019)

Last 5 Winners

2022: Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2019: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2018: Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
2017: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2016: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes


Friday June 16th:
Practice 1 (FP1) : 18:30 - 17:30
Practice 2 (FP2): 22:00 - 23:00

Saturday June 17th:
Practice 3 (FP3): 17:30 - 18:30
Qualifying: 15:00 - 16:00

Sunday June 18th:
Race Start: 19:00

bottom of page