top of page


Full Team Name: McLaren F1 Team

Headquaters: Woking, United Kingdom

Team Chief: Andrea Stella

Technical Chief: James Key

Chassis: MCL60

Power Unit: Mercedes

First Team Entry: 1966

World Championships: 8

Highest Race Finish: 1 (x183)

Pole Positions: 156

Fastest Laps: 162


McLaren is one of the most successful and iconic teams in the history of Formula One, with a long and storied history in the sport. Here is a brief overview of McLaren's involvement in Formula One:

  • McLaren was founded in 1963 by Bruce McLaren, a New Zealand racing driver and engineer.

  • The team made its Formula One debut in 1966, and quickly established itself as a top team in the sport.

  • McLaren has won eight Constructors' Championships and 12 Drivers' Championships, with some of the most famous drivers in the history of the sport, including Ayrton Senna, Alain Prost, and Lewis Hamilton.

  • The team has built some of the most iconic cars in the history of Formula One, including the MP4/4, which won 15 out of 16 races in the 1988 season.

  • McLaren has also had success outside of Formula One, with victories in the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

  • In recent years, McLaren has faced some challenges, but the team has shown promise with a strong performance in the 2020 season and the signing of top driver Daniel Ricciardo for the 2021 season.

  • In 2022 the team had an up and down season only scoring one podium and saw Daniel Ricciardo struggle with the car. At the end of the season the team decided to end the Aussies contract early and brought in F3 (2020) and F2 (2021) champion Oscar Piastri.

Overall, McLaren's involvement in Formula One is a major part of the sport's history. The team's success, iconic cars, and famous drivers have all helped to make McLaren one of the most recognized and respected names in motorsport.

Lando Norris

Oscar Piastri

bottom of page